Driving While Intoxicated or DWI is considered a crime in all the fifty states of the United States. In the state of New Jersey, the penalties would include the removal of the driving privileges, possible jail terms or huge fines. The DWI laws in this state in one of the strictest in all of the US.
The ability to handle a motor vehicle, the coordination and judgement are basically affected when intoxicated with alcohol. How much one is impaired is dependent on the following conditions:
a. The amount of alcohol intake
b. The amount of food intake before or during alcohol intake
c. The amount of time of alcohol intake
d. Bodyweight of driver
A first offender, based in DUI New Jersey laws, with blood alcohol levels of more than 0.08 percent but less than 0.10 percent is:
A.Fined $250-$400 D
B. Detained for 12-48 hours (Detainment is spent in two consecutive days with 6 hours or more per day served based on the requirements of the program of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers).
C. Imprisoned, in discretion of the court, for less than 30 days and the forfeiture of the driver’s right to drive a car or any motorized vehicle over the state’s highways for three months.
The penalties increase in gravity as more offenses are made. Keep in mind that the implementation of the DUI laws in this state is very firm; therefore, you need to make sure that the lawyer handling your case is experienced with DUI cases in NJ and that they know their way around the law. But make sure that the procedures that they are doing to help you with your problem is within the ethical realm of their practice.
For more information about the laws and penalties of DWI in Jersey and where to get the lawyers to help you, come and click www.nj-dmv-dwi.com.